Durrington Walls: Surveys, Stones and Superhenges

15 Sep

FragmeNTs

When I got up last Monday I had little idea  it would turn out to be one of the most frenetic days I’d experienced since I first picked up a trowel thirty-odd years ago. At 6:45  in the morning I found myself  at Durrington Walls chatting with Karen Gardner of BBC Wiltshire as we waited to do a radio interview about the discoveries at Durrington Walls. After that I thought I’d head back to the office in Avebury, grab a coffee and settle down to work for the day.

In the quiet of a September morning with the sunlight breaking through the early morning mists as they swirled above the Avon it was almost possible to imagine the great sweep of the henge bank and ditch had always been there. But of course it hasn’t.

Few things are as you first imagine them. And although my day started peacefully enough within a few hours it had dissolved into a media frenzy…

View original post 1,238 more words

Leave a Reply

