Anthropology Changed the Way I See the World

7 Jul

Welcome to the AAA Blog

This post was submitted by Veronica Sirotic, a high school senior and anthropology student interning with the AAA.

For the longest time, I thought anthropology was a chic boutique for women’s clothing. Little did I know, anthropology would change the way I see the world.

My interest in anthropology began two years ago when I signed up for a two-year anthropology class. Many friends recommended it to me and I heard it was an easy A. My first class started with a plain definition of anthropology: Anthropology: the study of humans, past and present. We were given a packet to skim. At first glance, the packet detailed a wacky and bizarre society. The people in the unnamed society would stick themselves in ovens in order to darken their skin. They would only eat at particular times during the day and the food they ate strictly adhered to the time of…

View original post 426 more words

Leave a Reply

